Climate Justice Working Group


Climate change is a reality. New York is fighting it.

Our future is at stake. That's why New York State is committed to the most aggressive clean energy and climate agenda in the country.

In 2019, we passed the nation-leading Climate Leadership and Community Protection Act (Climate Act) to empower every New Yorker to fight climate change at home, at work, and in their communities.

Working to ensure all New Yorkers are represented in the State’s transition to a cleaner energy future and benefit from investments and opportunities provided by this historic transition

The Climate Justice Working Group is comprised of representatives from Environmental Justice communities statewide, including three members from New York City communities, three members from rural communities, and three members from urban communities in upstate New York, as well as representatives from the State Departments of Environmental Conservation, Health, Labor, and NYSERDA.

The Climate Justice Working Group has an important advisory role in the Climate Action Council process, providing strategic advice for incorporating the needs of disadvantaged communities in the Scoping Plan. The Working Group will consult with the Environmental Justice Advisory Group and ensure that while we move the state toward a carbon neutral economy, all New Yorkers will reap the economic and environmental benefits of our nation-leading transition. The Climate Act requires the state to invest or direct resources in a manner designed to ensure that disadvantaged communities to receive at least 35 percent, with the goal of 40 percent, of overall benefits of spending on:

  • Clean energy and energy efficiency programs
  • Projects or investments in the areas of housing, workforce development, pollution reduction, low-income energy assistance, energy, transportation, and economic development

Working Group Members

  1. Eddie Bautista, Executive Director, NYC Environmental Justice Alliance
  2. Jill Henck, Clean Energy Program Director, Adirondack North Country Association
  3. Dr. Donathan Brown, CEO & Co-Founder, Adirondack Diversity Solutions
  4. Sonal Jessel, Director of Policy, WEACT for Environmental Justice
  5. Rahwa Ghirmatzion, Executive Director, PUSH Buffalo
  6. Amy Klein, CEO, Capital Roots
  7. Mary Beth McEwen, Interim Executive Director, ‎Cornell Cooperative Extension Of Oneida and Madison Counties
  8. Abigail McHugh-Grifa, Executive Director, Climate Solutions Accelerator of the Genesee-Finger Lakes Region
  9. Elizabeth Yeampierre, Executive Director, UPROSE

New York State agency members are:

  1. Alanah Keddell-Tuckey, Chair, Director of the Office of Environmental Justice, DEC
  2. Neil Muscatiello, Director, Bureau of Environmental and Occupational Epidemiology, Center for Environmental Health, DOH
  3. Joseph McNearney, Director of Stakeholder Engagement, DOL
  4. Christopher Coll, Director of Energy Affordability and Equity Program, NYSERDA

Contact: [email protected]

Climate Justice Working Group Meetings

2022 Climate Justice Working Group Meetings

2021 Climate Justice Working Group Meetings

January 27, 2021

February 24, 2021

March 12, 2021

March 24, 2021

April 21, 2021

May 12, 2021

May 24, 2021

June 15, 2021

June 23, 2021

July 20, 2021

July 27, 2021

August 26, 2021

September 17, 2021

October 19, 2021

November 17, 2021

December 2, 2021

December 9, 2021

December 13, 2021

2020 Climate Justice Working Group Meetings